Township Meeting – October 19

No video up yet, and I’m not doing a general round up.  Maybe later.  I didn’t watch the whole thing.  In an entirely predictable manner, the supervisors sat quietly during public comments when people praised them, and interrupted constantly when challenged.  The selective courtesy is a hallmark of the Jekyll and Hyde behavior of these supervisors.

Last night’s big draw was public reaction to the budget, now that it’s had some time to circulate and sink in.

There were a few people who stood up and said how great the township is, and it’s all due to the supervisors.  One gentleman went on about how there should be no expense spared for the UMT parks, that under the current supervisors our parks are the envy of the county.

Well, I for one don’t really want parks that are the envy of the county.  Parks that are nice and enjoyable are good enough.  If you want crown jewels, there’s a price to pay, and that is something that these people just skip right over.  It’s really not a choice between enviable parks or garbage, there is middle ground!

A woman then went up and felt the need to lay out her township bona fides.  I hate when people do that.  “I did this and that and the other thing”, the implication being that while we all live here and like it here, she lives here a bit more, and likes the township better, and so her opinions are a bit more important.  Aren’t we lucky for people like this!  And they will never tire of reminding everyone!

I’ve done volunteering, I just don’t natter on about it.  My private rule of thumb has always been that I do what I want to do.  Volunteering, like a paid job, has its share of tedium and inconvenience.  If I ever felt unappreciated, for any reason, I’d tell myself to suck it up.  It’s always my choice, and I can stop if I don’t want to do it anymore.  Appreciation from anyone was always just extra icing on a cake I was already enjoying.  But that’s me.

Anyway, I’m sure we all like living here for the most part, or we’d move.  Okay, maybe that was more true before the current DC administration made sure our homes’ values plunged, but still.  Here’s my question:  if you love this township so much, why doesn’t the 2012 half-million dollar deficit concern you?  Isn’t it worth a mention?  It’s not the first such deficit, and the current supervisors have absolutely no intention of addressing it at all.

You want your parks and all of the amenities, but you’re not honest enough to say that could well mean higher taxes.  This lack of straight talk applies to residents and supervisors.

I think the line in the sand is pretty clear.  Ryan and Rattigan are more than comfortable with big deficits; it’s really all they know.  They will cheese the edges and siphon open space mils back to the general fund until they run out of mils, or the economy booms and everyone stops paying attention.  And they’ll do that for the next 6 years.

I understand that at the Traditions debate on Tuesday night Rattigan said he’d love to have a $10 million dollar rainy day fund.  I have no doubt that he, together with Ryan and the others, would love to get their hands on that kind of unallocated money.  Just remember: in their world, the sun never shines.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by delta on October 20, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    Great job on the post.

    I quit watching after the first public comment session.

    Mike Logan was great.

    Steve Deutsch was a knockout.

    We need more like them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

